The giving nature of the writer

Hello all. Today, I’d like to tell you a story.

 A few years back, I was working as an entertainer in a karaoke show room. We not only sang the songs, but made up dances and comedic skits as well to go to the music. It just so happened that after my first year there, I got a promotion. I became the Lead in that room. That meant I was in charge of coming up with all the bits and skits. I’ve always been a creative person, but after a few weeks, I hit a wall. I was blocked. At this point in time, I had only fiddled around with short stories and poetry, not really giving free reign to the “novel” idea in my head.

 As luck would have it, I was reading an amazing series by an incredible author named Ms. Christine Feehan. One day, I randomly looked her up online and she had an email address where you could contact her and I thought “why not?” So I wrote to Ms. Feehan, not really expecting an answer, about my job and my creative block and asked if she had any advice. Lo and behold, she wrote me back. She gave me some amazing advice which not long after, led to the birth of my first novel. I will always be grateful to Ms. Feehan for giving me those words of wisdom and setting me on this path. 
  
  The advice came in handy at work and the show went off without a hitch for a good long run and when I finally did start my novel, another writer comes into play. Now, remember, I’ve never met anyone in this blog in person. I just contacted them by email. So here’s the story of what happened next.
   
      I had started my novel and ideas were flying fast and furious and I was sure I could finish my novel in 2 weeks at the most. (surrreee, like that was going to happen)  So I decided to look into length of novels, how to set up a manuscript, and all that jazz and that led me to Rebecca Sinclair, an extraordinary woman who is the very soul of generosity and a darn good writer. Ms. Sinclair had written an article online that answered all my questions and following some of her links, i found an email address. I wrote her to thank her for the extremely useful tips and she emailed me back. So I wrote her back and a friendship was born. I’ve never met her in person, but I consider her as one of my very best friends. I would have never finished that first novel if it hadn’t been for her cheering me on through all the ups and downs and doubts. (took me two years.)
 
    What I’m saying is this, two women who have never met me or heard of me, and are extremely busy, still made time to answer an email from a newbie. These wonderful women are just a small part of the writing community but as time has went by and i’ve joined more groups and read more blogs and interracted more with my fellow writers, i’m seeing that generosity of spirit is a staple. We all cheer for each other, even if we’ve never met by dropping by to offer some small words of encouragement when someone posts about a rejection. We cry together, we laugh together, we rejoice on encouraging news, and we help where needed. To all my friends old, new and as yet unmet, the next time you pick up a book, stop for a minute and think a good thought for the author. They deserve it.

About winterwhite17

I am a currently unpublished author hoping to catch a big fish for an agent. We'll see how it turns out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

